First things first, my name is Bob and I am from Detroit. I am a photographer by hobby, and currently a janitor in a high school. I am currently involved in a variety of projects most of which require lots of time in taking in various amounts of information.

My photography as well as other artworks are my main passions in life. I hope to make a living from them in the near future. As I mentioned, I am a photographer. I dabbled into it in the early 90s (yes, the film era) but I didn’t stay with it long. That, and I was into my sketchbooks. Somehow the tables have turned as time has went on.

In recent years, various networking sites i.e. myspace, flickr, facebook, twitter, blogger, tumblr, and many others have taken networking by storm. And like yourselves, I am soooo glad that I jumped ship when I had the chance. Originally I featured my artwork on some Yahoo groups, and little did I know that their popularity has since faded out, and-I can’t exactly recall how it happened-be it by a friend or (online) passersby, I wound up on flickr. I thought that it was just like the Yahoo! Groups, but nothing of the kind. But way better! So after a few failed attempts with myspace, Yahoo Groups, and a few other sites, flickr remains my means of moral support as far as artworks go. Facebook has called me out as well, and I responded. Of all the networking sites I’ve been on for the past five years or more, those two remain the best ones for me. I have profited from both-esp. with them linked together. And anything that you wish to share on Facebook, you can link it with eBay, YouTube, as well as any other site that’s Facebook friendly!

Life’s been good so far!

My gradual return to photography actually wasn’t gradual. In other words, I’ve actually was (unexpectantly) able to keep up. I got back into it in late 2004 starting with a Polaroid 600 which was my high school graduation present as well as a Kodak KB-10 35mm that I bought in ‘99, then with camera phones (this went on for a good three years), then finally in ‘07 I bought a Panasonic DMC-LS70 which was my faithful companion until I dropped it in late ‘08, then I bought a Nikon Coolpix L18 on Amazon (I will never buy a camera online again, I’ll explain later on that), and the coup de gras of all the point-and-shoot cameras I’ve owned, the Canon PowerShot A590 IS which I still use to this day, and a year later, I have purchased my very first DSLR-a Nikon D3000-and my world has not been the same since.

Since I’ve had my new camera, I’ve shot a wedding reception, a maternity, a friend’s baptism, the Woodward Dream Cruise, a live concert as well as a few fashion shows. And as this year comes to a close, I still have lots of pics that I’ve taken this year that have yet to be posted, but I’ll get there.

Keep your eye(s) open!

Posted 2010-12-28 on Tumblr

