Image

After spending a total six hours of painting the front porch in 90 degree heat, I treated myself to a chocolate-vanilla parfait layered with Oreo’s, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, and strawberries courtesy of TCBY.  Next to apple pie/cobbler, this too, is my crack!  I savored every bit of this dessert as if it were my last.  I don’t get to come here often like I used to, but when I do, I enjoy it.  After having to take intervals painting yesterday, it was worth it.  Right now, I’m outta school, considering putting my engineering course on hold just for the moment and finishing up my last year of college so I can get my Associate’s Degree and FINALLY be done with it.  I am also trying to save up some money so I can relocate which we will be doing soon anyway.  I really wanna move outta state-preferably the south or the west where the weather is warm virtually ALL YEAR ROUND!  That being said, in spite of some progress made here in Detroit this past decade, like most of my friends (including an ex-girlfriend) and a few relatives of mine, once they left, that was it!  Though most of them have visited over the years, they ain’t even thinking about moving back here, and I don’t blame ’em ONE BIT!

One day, God willing, one day I’ll be outta here for good and maybe even get to enjoy these parfaits more often!

