Image

 

Well, this year has been off to a very rapid start for my family, as well as myself.  But for some odd reason, I’m still draggin’ along in most areas, but I’m also beginning to see the light in others.  As I go through what Sam Jackson called in Pulp Fiction, a “Transitional Period”, at 37, soon-to-be 38, my eyes were opened to a lot of things.  I won’t even lie about it, my ex-girlfriend had consumed the majority of my thoughts.  She’s long gone, moved on, and I’m beginning to realize that I do the same.  And these classes that I’ve been taking have kept me very busy.  I let over a decade of my life lay dormant for a job that sold us out to company leaving us virtually at-will, and things did improve in some areas, but worsened in others.  But that’s everywhere these days.  I’m still debating where will I reside between now and Graduation even though it’s gonna be a little over two years from now.  It does feel good to go back to school again after all these years.  This transition that I’m going through is long overdue, to say the very least.  Some things that I’ve involved myself in that were very enjoyable at the time, have now proved to be useless! And after going through the things I’ve gone through with the woman I loved very dearly (still do), it opened my eyes to embrace something that I really didn’t think I had in me:  the ability to actually want better for myself, to change, to mature, to advance.  I am a man of many talents (I think being born a twin had something to do with it), and some of them I’ve stayed with, others I gave the brass ring one last tug, as it were.  Needless to say, it paid off quite well.

With that in mind, I’ve committed to memory something that I’ve stumbled across on Tumblr in recent years:  “RESPECT yourself to walk away from anything that no longer grows you, serves you, or makes you happy”.  That being said, I’ve decided to purge things in my personal, financial, and even spiritual life that no longer serves a purpose.  I’ve been making it a matter of prayer as of late, and already those petitions have been answered.  I just gotta keep on purging.

The only way to move forward!  More to come.

