20140205-103216.jpg
At a time like this, I wish I’d taken today off. Woulda been a good time to catch up in some rest, perhaps resume my job search, or sell some items on eBay. And I still got a ton of crap that I actually want to get rid of. And I need to clean the house up as well. And some Bible reading would be nice as well. Went out and bought some bleach because my mops were stinking up the place! That being said, I do what I can to take care of my workplace so it’ll take care of me. But next time we get a day like this, and the schools are closed, God willing, I’m taking that day off! I have the time for it, and I’m going for it. Period.

And I am serious about my job search. I’m making the same money in 2014 that I made in late 1997-early ’98! Not good. I really shouldn’t be posting this online, but two things: It’s my blog, and I’ll post whatever I want on it. And two, I’ve worked the same job making flat-rate pay for (almost) 20 years. I’m almost 40, and I can’t do this job the way I used to when I was in my 20s. Yeah, the benefits are good, but where’s the money at? And it’s sad that those who have invested 20-30 years being a custodian for Detroit Public Schools have little or nothing to show for it now. They waited all those years for something better, and instead it got worse! Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I have a job, but these peanuts they’re paying me is for the birds, literally. I don’t mind manual labor, but PAY ME! Now I know how Sean Connery felt when he walked away from James Bond, cause that’s how I’m feeling right about now.

I haven’t been to the gym in about three weeks and went back to fast foods and pop again. I hate relapses, I deeply do! Hopefully after class tonight, I’ll go to bed early and wake up around 3-ish to make preparations to hit the gym in the morning meaning that I have to start from the bottom again. But that’s the price you pay for neglect, I guess!

Well, I just had to vent, as well as dream and wish for this somewhat easy work day. Hopefully my next entry will have some brighter light to shine on whatever topic comes to mind.

Namaste.

