20140327-132756.jpg
Man, almost every time I eat this stuff, I think about a woman I used to date. She was a huge Popeyes fan! It was an obsession of hers, literally!

That was then, and this is NOW!

Having said that, I say this. These past few days-if not weeks-I’ve been blogging about health, lifestyle changes, working out, and even changing my diet. Due to circumstances beyond my control, I had Popeyes Chicken for lunch. And unexpected, as well as unbeknownst to me, I decided to take a leap of faith and peel the skin off. I was shocked, devastated, chagrined, and disgusted by what I saw! I ate very little meat on the bird after the fact. And what really got me was (and I’ve known it for many years, I’m just NOW paying it some attention) how much fat was on those little pieces of meat! I’ll admit that Popeyes wasn’t the best of choices, but man! I was through when I saw the skin with the layers of fat on the bird. Makes you think, don’t it?

After all that, I’m still in shock after finding out what I was really putting in my body all these years. It’s funny. I remember my grandfather doing that and he was warning me about chicken skins as well as my salt intake! Seeing that I’m gonna be 40 next year, I’m glad that I listened to him and the rest of the family.

Always helps to listen to your elders. Most of the time, anyway!

Namaste.

