IMG_7705.JPG
Having been out of the city since my grandmother’s passing, I try to stay abreast with the goings-on in the city as well as out. This night was no different. Thinking of a picture for my 365, I planned to go downtown for a brief adventure, just me and my iPhone. As I anticipate the finishing of the M1 Railway, I hopped on the People Mover. A 25-30 year old monorail that has dodged many bullets during Detroit’s down years. Before I go any further, I want to clear this one thing up: I said 25-30 because around ’84-’85, there were some concrete beams with a track over them. Coleman Young, our mayor at the time, and a few other influential people had a vision for the resurgence of Detroit. Long story short, a 3.5 mile monorail would transport folks from one side of downtown to the other, hence the name “People Mover”. And in 1987, it was opened to the public. And for many years it went counter-clockwise. In 2007, on its 20th anniversary, it now goes clockwise. And with the entertainment industry investing in Detroit, the People Mover is more popular now than it was decades ago.

Back to my original story. I rode the train for two trips (each trip is 15 minutes depending on how many people board the trains). And as I took pics of one particular stop that I don’t board often, but I thought why not. It didn’t occur to me until after I walked in the cold that I was parked across the Financial District Station. Like I said, I’ve been out of touch since I moved out of the city. Thankfully, I’m not too far from the border of it.

I boarded the Fort/Cass station on the northwest corner of Fort Street and Cass Avenue. Fort street being the namesake of Fort Ponchartrain du De’troit (now known as Detroit, Michigan), and Cass Ave being the namesake of Lewis Cass, the 22nd US Secretary of State, 2nd Territorial Governor of Michigan, US Ambassador to France, and US Senator. Like everything else in America, there’s a backstory to everything.

One final observation to share. This station, like the other stations that connect to the monorail downtown, is that even though art-deco is hard to come by these days, but like every other major American city, Detroit has its artists. This station has a very beautiful art-deco wall halfway between where you board the train and the street. (If I hadn’t pointed it out yet, the People Mover is an above ground monorail in downtown Detroit)
I have taken many pictures of this station including a picture of the train as it was approaching for my 365. Due to time and space constraints, I had to consolidate the pictures into a collage. That said, once you see the pictures, it might just change your tune about Detroit.

And as always, the pictures speak for themselves.

Namaste.

IMG_7706.JPG

IMG_7703.JPG

