DSC_9960-watermarked
DSC_9957-watermarked
First of all, do not be surprised if my entries for the next few weeks consist of anything on wheels. If you haven’t noticed after all these years I’ve been blogging (with the exception of new followers) that I am a car buff. That said, I’m gonna spit out my two cents on this iconic automobile that has gone through many resurgences these past two decades, but this particular model, in my opinion, despite its sleek design, has been EMASCULATED! That’s right, I said it, I friggin’ said it! Now I know how boars feel when they’ve been castrated and their testicular abilities to satisfy and produce has been turned into a delicacy called Mountain Oysters, for those who don’t know. And for the record, I have not, nor will I have the desire to eat a pig’s balls, my swine-eatin’ days have expired in recent years, but that’s a whole ‘nother thing to discuss later… Before I dive right into what I really wanna say, here’s another pic of this iconic set of wheels that has been a major staple in GM for almost six decades…
DSC_9962-hdr-watermarked
Okay. Over a year ago when Chevy had debuted the 2014 Impala in early 2013, I’ll admit that I was blown away by its design, until I read that the base model came with a I-4 engine. WHAT?!? A Chevrolet Impala? With a stinkin’ four-cylinder? The Malibu I can understand, and that too used to be a muscle car. But the Impala? I asked one of the models/spokewomen WHY did they use an I-4 for the Impala of all the GM cars. Reasons being was that the cost of gas prior to the recent drop (gas is between $1.50 and $2.00 depending on which state you live in). But not all hope was lost, it does come with a V-6. But as a child of the 80s and early 90s, whenever I see a Chevy Impala, I think “cop car”, V-8 muscle, and in the early 90s, it was resurrected after a ten-year absence with an SS (Super Sport) badge, and a Corvette engine. And with that triple-threat package in tow, even the Mustang had faced some competition. I am mindful of the fact that the economy is no where near what it was back then, and all that gas-guzzlin’ power has become a thing of the past since the turn of this century. Nowadays only a select few vehicles come with standard, if not optional V8s. Now the last generation Impala, I test drove prior to getting my Malibu. One of the LT models (it had the V8, I could tell by the way it drove), even though I never owned a car with a V8, I’ve driven plenty of ’em. And this particular model handled the road almost as good as an AWD vehicle. The ride was as smooth as a baby’s butt! Like I said earlier in this entry, I mourn that this soon-to-be 60 year old car has been emasculated with a lawn mower’s engine (that’s what I refer to I-4 engines, and I’m not the first to do that, I don’t think). After all, this car was once dubbed the “Baby Cadillac of The 50s”. One good thing about the Impala is that its design in recent years have favoured its contemporary brand, Cadillac, who have also downgraded their drive trains as well. I was too young to learn how to drive back then, but growing up in the 80s and 90s, I can only imagine how life was handling any vehicle with V8 power! Even compact cars had ’em (this was in the 80s, I might add). Maybe in due time the “Baby Cadillac” will reclaim its throne in V8 territory. I certainly hope it happens. I remain optimistic. My grandparents (God rest their souls) had one or two Impalas, my parents had one, I test drove one in recent years. Say what you may about this vehicle, but one thing that you cannot deny is the legacy that it has left over the years.
DSC_9963-watermarked
DSC_9958-watermarked

