DSC_0320-watermarkedDSC_0309-watermarked

It’s no secret that I am a freak of artistic nature.  I recently saw a short film in class called “The Dot and The Line”.  It’s relatively short, but it speaks very loud volumes.  In order to be a line, you start off first as a dot as it is.  As I osberve the graphics, and the definition of structures wherever I go, I am just amazed at what man can do with his mind, and his hands.  Variety is also a part of it as well.  I don’t always like to see the same things all the time, but a switcheroo will do on occasion.  Something about design, perspective, has always captured my eye for some reason or another.

DSC_0411-watermarked

Even illuminated objects such this Harley-Davidson sign that I shot in Clinton Township, Michigan, a suburb of Detroit.  It amazes me how vision and technology always go hand-in-hand.  How sand can be manipulated into tubes of glass, yet have different colours, can further be manipulated into shapes and letters and later on (once the glass cools down) have electrical currents run through it giving it that neon glow.  Not to mention the skeleton of the building in the background.  And some metal beams supporting the neon lights (not on Broadway, mind you) atop the cash registers (not pictured).

DSC_0473-watermarkedDSC_0466-watermarked

Since the subject of light remains, I think about the porch light on my patio, and the lamp that I purchased from IKEA either last year, or the year before.  How the designs are very simple, yet attracted the consumer’s attention.  Right away I thought about Apple.  Steve Jobs wanted something simple, yet effective.  The fixture on the left, most of them would have a plate underneath to keep out unwanted pests to avoid clogging up the light screw, but on the flip side, despite having to sweep out dead bugs on occasion, I, personally like the convenience of having to unscrew the lamp and not have to fight unscrewing a plate off just to access the bulb, but that’s just me!  The lamp, on the other hand, I’d say it’s one of my best investments ever made.  Period.  Right away when I saw this (I bought two of them), I thought serenity, due to its design, I thought about Asian culture, the lamps, in my opinion had a calming Zen-like approach.  The shades have warm appeal to them, with a square top and bottom, they’re virtually rectangles that appear to be hanging lifelessly, but as you can see, the rectangles are supported by a four-way frame with a central point that connects to the stem where the bulbs are located as well.  Once they are finally constructed, they are supported by a weight that’s covered by a stainless steel plate that contours the weight inside, and the bottom of it is supported by a black plastic cover.  Yet, for a very reasonable price, the design of this lamp has captured the eye of many consumers over the years.  But like everything else in this world, all things must come to an end.  These lamps are no longer in production, but they have similar lamps with the shades half the length.  But I’m glad that I bought both lamps with full-length shades.  And seeing that I moved in recent months, they complement my new place better than where I was at previously.

Seeing that I rambled a bit too much on lights, my main goal was to find some vantage point shots and post them online.  I think I did all right.  Mission accomplished!

Namaste.

