DSC_0513-hdr-watermarked

Something that we do not get often here up north, and in certain parts of the South and Southwest, these babies migrated to the shores of those American regions from either the Mediterranean, and/or western Asia.  They’re healthy, good, and juicy to say the very least.  Shockingly, though.  Most of my southern friends have never heard of these!  Mainly because in Florida and in California, they’re more popular there than anywhere else.  Now I have had blood orange soda, and I was hooked then!  But for years I could not locate the actual orange itself.  Well, with a little patience (that had worn very thin because of last year’s winter) the crop had come very much later than expected.  From what I was told, we get them between late October to early March.  We ended up getting them this past December, and thankfully they’re still shipping them here up north.  And they are delicious!

It took me awhile to figure it out, because I’m still new to the culture of blood oranges.  They have the appearance of a regular orange at first, but let them sit for some time (give or take a few days, a week at best), and they will be dark on the outside, and darker on the inside!  I’ve made martinis with these things, baked a slab of salmon and added slices of the oranges on it, I eat at least two, or three a day.  As long as I can get them for a reasonable price per pound, I’ll keep buying them until the crop season is over.

Cheers!

Namaste.

