On the last leg of my trip in Cincinnati, my girlfriend had introduced me to one of Cincy’s popular chili joints, Skyline.  And to say the very least, it was very, very unique.  Allow me to embellish further.

First of all, the wait staff serves oyster crackers as an appetizer, but there’s more…

My lady told me that the way they have their oyster crackers there is that they put a drop of hot sauce on each oyster.  But I took it a step further…

My girlfriend had also informed me that you hit paydirt when you come across an open oyster and put hot sauce in the opening.  Delicious to say the least…

But get this…

A Chili Coney Dog.  Because I don’t eat pork, I had to settle without.  But it was good!  Again, topped with an oyster cracker.  Even though Cincy had their touch on Coney Island Restaurants, I made it very known, and very clear that Detroit had Coney first!  More than likely it was a family business that spreaded throughout the Midwest.

BTW, the service there was lightning fast, literally!  Case in point…

The name of this dish escapes me at the moment, but I have never in 40 plus years of living on God’s green earth have had chili in the form of layers.  This dish was layered with spaghetti, chili, and shredded cheddar cheese, in that order from bottom to top!

After all that good eatin’, you have got to wash it down with something…

Half-and-half lemonade and iced tea.  Can’t go wrong with that.  

Still scarfin’ down this good stuff, I added some oyster crackers to my dish, and took it just little bit further…

Had to add the hot sauce to “spice it up” a little bit.  It was delicious, to make an understatement…

All gone now, and another round of half-and-half…

Same pic as before (obviously), it didn’t occur to me to take a picture of a second drink…

BTW, a disposable bib is optional, or in this case, highly recommended.  This was a messy, yet tasty dish.

My lady treated, and I tipped…

If you’re ever in Cincinnati, Ohio, USA, and you’re a chili buff, Skyline is one of the places to check out.

BTW, the service was impeccable, and the cleanliness of the joint was past par!

Till next time,

Namaste

